RSS

Meet our intern, Michelle

06 Jun

Hello CAPM blog readers. For the summer, we’ll be introducing the volunteers and interns who have been helping us behind the scenes at the office. This week, meet Michelle, who is our communications intern.

Who are you?
My name is Michelle Sham. I am 20 years old. I was born in Singapore and grew up there for 16 years before coming to the United States to complete my education. I am of Chinese descent, but I have never been to China before. English is my first language, as I was taught British English in Singapore, and Mandarin is my second language.

What do you do?
I am a senior at the University of Minnesota (Twin Cities) with an Individualized major. My concentrations are Mass Communication, Political Science and Korean. Frankly, I am afraid of going out into the world after graduation. I do not know what I want to do as an occupation yet and even worse, I do not know where to start looking. However though, I have a great interest in the North-South Korean conflict, human rights and climate change.

What motivates you?/What are your passions?
My motivation comes from my will to want to make changes and to stand up for the ones that are at a disadvantage. Whether they are incredible marine animals whose homes we are polluting, helpless animals that we are killing in masses inhumanely for their fur, our beautiful planet that we are mercilessly exploiting, or people, like you and me, living with no basic human rights under a tyranny- I feel the obligation to want to correct things to improve their quality of life.

What has your experience at CAPM been like?
My experience at CAPM has been eye opening. In CAPM, I am surrounded by young and motivated people who help people everyday. There is a drive to want to influence policy making, inspire people and to essentially improve the lives of Asian Americans in Minnesota. Although I have only been with CAPM since Febuary 2011, I have already learnt so many things. I am very glad to be able to intern at CAPM, and I look forward to helping them help the Minnesotan community.

Anything else you would like people to know about you?
My philosophy in life is simple. Life is short, so be happy and spread only compassion and love.

-=-=-

See the whole “Learn about us” series at this link.

Thinking about volunteering or interning? Contact us! We’re always looking for talented, motivated, and energetic people who can help us with office tasks, techie stuff, art and design, community outreach, policy work, and more! Contact Brian at capm@state.mn.us

 
Comments Off

Posted by on June 6, 2011 in CAPM news, Learn about us

 

Tags:

Comments are closed.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

