RSS

Meet our intern, Souvan

29 Jun

Hello CAPM blog readers. For the summer, we’ll be introducing the volunteers and interns who have been helping us behind the scenes at the office. This week, meet Souvan, who is our education policy intern.

Who are you?
It depends on who you ask; if you ask my professors I’m a TA.  If you ask Brian at CAPM, I’m his intern.  If you ask my close friends, I’m a loud guy who occasionally loses his voice and enjoys politics too much.  If you ask my soccer teammates, I just want to play. More than anything, I just want to be involved whether I’m just an observer or trying to help out.  I’m studying Political Science (of course) at the University of MN and have lots of things I want to do, but probably won’t have the time to do them all.

What do you do?
I love to eat.  Doesn’t matter what it is, I’ll eat it, anything.  Ok I take that back, maybe not anything but most things.  I guess it goes hand in hand with cooking because I like to cook also. I like experimenting with food, trying to make them as tasty as possible, although most of the time it doesn’t turn out too well.  Soccer is also something I enjoy doing; I read about it, I watch it, I play it, I study it.  Soccer is great!  It also happens to be my stress reliever.

What has your experience at CAPM been like?
CAPM has been not just a learning experience but also an enlightening experience.  You can definitely learn a lot of workplace skills in a professional environment but CAPM makes it warm and welcoming.  “Cut-throat competition” isn’t in our vocabulary and the staff are great, but we all still have our deadlines and expectations because we still have to work.  One can learn a lot about themselves by learning more about their work.  I’m an education policy intern and it’s really just a fancy name for studying and keeping track of how state lawmakers want to change education.  For example: do they want to increase or decrease funding for schools?  For what city and by how much?  How is this going to affect the school district there? Why do they want to do that?

Doing my work has really deepened my understanding how MN’s educational system and I’ve come to learn a lot about myself; what I like and don’t like, what I believe works and won’t work and why that is.  Either I agree with a policy and my beliefs are reinforced or I disagree and in finding a reason to do so, I also reinforce my beliefs.

What motivates you?/What are your passions?
Education is so important and my parents have always stressed the importance of education.  For them there’s a greater motivation for them in that being refugees from a third world country, they’ve never had formal education until they came to the United States.  I didn’t come to value education as much as I do now until I was in college.  My first year in college had a tremendous impact on me and then meeting Brian and Saymoukda at an event held by the University motivated me further.  I think Brian said it best when he gave a heart-warming story about helping a child out and how we, people in college, are privileged to an extent where we have a responsibility to help others who aren’t as privileged.  It really struck a chord with me and was one reason why I jumped at the opportunity to intern with CAPM.

Anything else you would like people to know about you?
I’ve always enjoy being surrounded by nature, even as a kid; one could call me an outdoors-man but that would be too kind because I don’t get out enough as I would like to.  I think I only went fishing once all of last year, which is rather disappointing.  I used to go way more often than that but life has just caught up with me; I try to go with the family when I can.  Growing up, I loved playing pokemon and yu-gi-oh and even now that I’m older I’m still playing games; Bananagrams, Settlers of Catan, Risk, and Monopoly are some of my favorites.

-=-=-

See the whole “Learn about us” series at this link.

Thinking about volunteering or interning? Contact us! We’re always looking for talented, motivated, and energetic people who can help us with office tasks, techie stuff, art and design, community outreach, policy work, and more! Contact Brian at capm@state.mn.us

 
Comments Off on Meet our intern, Souvan

Posted by on June 29, 2011 in CAPM news, Learn about us

 

Comments are closed.

 
