RSS

Meet our intern, Christina

15 Aug

Christina_Wong

Who are you?

I am a 2L at William Mitchell. I grew up in Kingston, Jamaica but am originally from Miami, Florida. I was involved in the Asian Student Alliance and Asian Pacific Awareness Month Committee at Macalester College. I was an Asian Studies and History major with a focus on China. A bit on my family background: my father was born in Hong Kong, and my mother was born in Dongguan, China. My parents are both Hakka-Chinese, but we mainly speak Cantonese at home.

I’m the first person in my family to graduate from college. Being able to attend law school has definitely been a blessing, and it’s been a great experience so far.

What do you do?

Most of my time is dedicated to law school, but I have been able to volunteer and keep connected with the community. I still keep in contact with my Macalester professors and lend a hand whenever they need it. And of course, I enjoy spending time with my friends.

What has your experience at CAPM been like?

So far it’s been a blast interning at CAPM! The office isn’t very big and the staff is small, but the work that’s done is amazing. Other than being a liaison to the governor and advocating for Asian-Americans in Minnesota, CAPM also does a lot of work with the youth. It’s never too early to reach out and get kids engaged in their community.

I also enjoy the conversations we have at CAPM. We come together for lunch and just chat. We talk about the projects we’re working on, things that are happening at the Capitol, and whatever just happens to be on our minds at the time. Though I haven’t been interning for very long, I am comfortable here. There’s definitely a very supportive atmosphere.

What motivates you?/What are your passions?

Because I grew up in Jamaica, I learnt to be grateful and content with very little. So what motivates me is service to other people. My main reason for attending law school is to, one day, provide legal help to those who need it but can’t access it. Another thing that motivates me is my family. Nothing is more important to me than the health and well-being of my parents.

Anything else you would like people to know about you?

I really enjoy art and anything creative. Here’s a short list of what I dapple in: I take photos and used to make films for fun. I play the electric guitar (but I read tabs, so you’ll probably question my music credibility). I love cooking, but I love eating more. Whenever I travel, I always look forward to the gastronomic adventures I’ll have.

-=-=-

See the whole “Learn about us” series at this link.

Thinking about volunteering or interning? Contact us! We’re always looking for talented, motivated, and energetic people who can help us with office tasks, techie stuff, art and design, community outreach, policy work, and more! Contact Brian at capm@state.mn.us

 
Comments Off on Meet our intern, Christina

Posted by on August 15, 2011 in Learn about us

 

Tags:

Comments are closed.

 
