Gov. Dayton picks new Broadband Task Force

14 Nov

The 15-member task force is charged with coming up with a plan involving both greater availability of high-speed Internet in all parts of the state and greater use of broadband by state residents, particularly among those groups that use the Internet less than others — older people, low-income people and some minorities.

MPR reported on the expectations for the task force earlier this year in August and again when the members of the task force was named.

Task force members include:

  • Margaret Anderson Kelliher – director of the Minnesota High Tech Association, former MN House Speaker and MN legislator.
  • Shirley Walz – senior director of technology for Thomson Reuters.
  • Bernadine Joselyn – director of public policy and engagement for the Blandin Foundation.
  • Steve Lewsader – president of the Communication Workers of America, Local 7201.
  • Duane Ring – president of the nine-state Midwest Region of CenturyLink.
  • Gary Evans – chief executive officer of Hiawatha Broadband Company.
  • Dick Sjoberg, Sjoberg’s Cable, a telecommunications provider in Thief River Falls.
  • Daniel Richter, President of MVTV Wireless, a wireless broadband provider based in Granite Falls.
  • Danna MacKenzie –  director of information systems for Cook County.
  • Maureen Ideker – director of Telehealth, Essentia Health.
  • Matt Grose – superintendent, Deer River Public Schools.
  • Steve Peterson – Bloomington City Council.
  • Bob Bass – Bloomington, AT&T Wireless.
  • Keith Modglin – information systems director for the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe.
  • Bao Vang – president and chief operating officer of the Hmong-American Partnership.

The task force is a two-year appointment but is expected to come up with an early set of recommendations for the Legislature early in 2012.

Comments Off on Gov. Dayton picks new Broadband Task Force

Posted by on November 14, 2011 in General Comments, Legislative


Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: