RSS

Meet our intern, Leila

07 Aug

Who are you?

I am a Junior at Gustavus Adolphus College. I grew up in Burnsville, Minnesota. I am Political Science major as well as a Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies & Sociology and Anthropology double minor. My mother is Japanese and my father is Pakistani. I also have an older brother.

What do you do?

Most of my time is spent studying. During the school year I work at Gustavus Technology Services. In my free time I participate in Gustavus Women’s Rugby and hang out with friends.

What has your experience at CAPM been like?

It has definitely exceeded my expectations. All the staff has been absolutely wonderful. When first coming in I didn’t think I would be as involved as I have been. I really enjoyed being able to go to the youth leadership retreat and working at the Dragon Festival. It was wonderful to see how much an experience like that means to the youth and community.

What motivates you?/What are your passions?

Growing up I saw quite a few people bullied for being different. If it was for their sexual orientation, ethnicity, or because of stereotypes. I decided my senior year of high school that I would find a way to do something about it even if it was in a small way. If I could make it better for at least one person it would be absolutely worth while. I hope to work in a field related to minority rights either regarding women, ethnic, or sexual orientation.

Anything else you would like people to know about you?

Soccer has been the love of my life. Until last summer I played year around since I was six years old. I have now found a place in rugby. I may be small, however, that doesn’t mean you should underestimate me. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to describe how much soccer and rugby means to me. To be able to meet the amazing people I have and memories I have made along the way has left me very, very fortunate. It has shaped me and can never be replaced.

-=-=-

The CAPM staff would like to give a big thank you to Leila for helping us over the summer. Her last day will be August 23rd before she returns to continue her studies at Gustavus. We wish you a safe trip and we’ll miss you!

-=-=-

See the whole “Learn about us” series at this link.

Thinking about volunteering or interning? Contact us! We’re always looking for talented, motivated, and energetic people who can help us with office tasks, techie stuff, art and design, community outreach, policy work, and more! Contact us at capm@state.mn.us

 
Comments Off on Meet our intern, Leila

Posted by on August 7, 2012 in Learn about us

 

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.

 
