RSS

Letter from Ilean Her

01 Nov

Dear Community Members and Friends,

This is my last communication with you all in my formal capacity as the Executive Director of the Council on Asian-Pacific Minnesotans.  It has been my pleasure to have worked with and get to know you all.

When I started more than 10 years ago in this position, I was a wide-eyes dreamer with little work and or life experience.  The good or bad thing about this job is that it allows learning and growth at a fast pace.  It’s either you learn and grow or are pushed out of the way.  Laws and policies get made with or without you.  I had to learn right away that dreams are good, but dreams need action to become real. They need support and nourishment.  They need encouragement.  They even need challenges and adversaries. And sometimes, they need to fail and be reborn, reshaped, and or sharpened.  Above all I learned dreams need people.

So thank you all for being a part of my DREAM and making so many of them come true. The accomplishments and legacies of Asian Pacific Minnesotans in the last decade has been huge.  We’ve made great strides and successes (and maybe someday I’ll write a book about them all) and witnessed our shares of disappointments and fustrations.  But throughtout, we were present and a part of the discussion, a part of the struggle, a part of the success, a part of the Minnesota story.

We have accomplished much, but there is still much to do.  Please continue to support the work of the Council and it’s super talented and able staff.

On a personal note, please continue to be a part of my life. My contact information is below and feel free to contact and keep in touch with me.

With much love and gratitude,
Kao Ly Ilean Her

Cell:  651.503.6817
Twitter:  @ileanher
email: kaolyher@yahoo.com

 
Comments Off on Letter from Ilean Her

Posted by on November 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
